Peapod Squad wins third Beanpod title!

The Peapod Squad, the improv troupe I started in college, is still going strong. So strong in fact that there’s now a second troupe on campus. This year the Peapod Squad won it’s third Beanpod title, a coveted college improv title. I’m so proud of these guys. I’ve been back to teach improv there many times over the years and I am always impressed with how smart, funny and ready to learn they are. It does not surprise me that they won again. See the official Clark bulletin below or read here.


Peapod Squad wins 3rd Beanpot improv title

Thursday, March 4, 2010

he Clark University Peapod Squad took first place at the 2010 College Beanpot Improv Tournament, held Feb. 24-27 at ImprovBoston.

Peapod competed against eight other area college improv teams to win first place, the third Beanpot title for the squad.

Members of the Peapod Squad are Andrew Ninnemann ‘10, Kaylie Curran ‘10, Sarah Jette ‘10, Milo MacPhail ‘11, John Nolan ‘11, Danny Zeliger ‘11, Ian Michaels ‘11, Julian Kronick ‘12 (of Leominster), Laura Flynn ‘12, and Vicki Grogan ‘10. Individually, MacPhail won the Breakout Player award.

The tournament is conducted in a Theater Sports-style competition, with teams going head-to-head, being scored individually according to Story, Skill, and Entertainment. This year’s tournament featured a “Goon” judge, who was allotted 15 points per round to give out as they saw fit, according to things they liked about the scenes.

Peapod won the competition in the final round against Fairfield by playing a long-form version of a game (with the working title of “The Morality Game”) created by the Squad, in which the team went through the scenario of the way a character’s life would pan out if they made one moral decision over another. The team received a perfect score for this final game, bringing in the win.

Peapod was coached at this year’s tournament by Impro Boston cast member Jenna O’Brien of Flaming Awesome, an IB house team.

This year’s other contestants included Fairfield University; Northeastern University; MIT; WPI; Brandeis University; Boston University; Boston College; and Gordon College.